Quantum Leap was an Indiana Humanities initiative that encourages Hoosiers to explore and celebrate the spirit of possibility and problem-solving that occurs when we bridge the humanities with science, technology, engineering, math and medicine.

Guided in part by a steering committee (see below) consisting of leaders in business, science, agriculture, medicine and the humanities, Quantum Leap looked at global and local STEM issues through a humanities lens to engage Hoosiers in discussions about topics such as ethical dilemmas around the uses of new technologies, how we accept and embrace change (or don’t), and how we determine what is and isn't factual.

Steering Committee


  • Beth Bechdol, President, Agrinovus

  • Susanne Wasson, U.S. Commercial Leader, Dow AgroSciences

Committee Members

  • Mary Wade Atteberry, Vice President Communications and Marketing, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

  • Brad Bishop, Executive Director, Orthoworx

  • Michael Crowther, President and CEO, Indianapolis Zoo

  • Andy Cullison, Director of the Janet Prindle Institute for Ethics, DePauw University

  • Kathy Davis, President and Owner, Davis Design Group

  • Gerry Dick, President and CEO, Grow Indiana Media

  • Todd Mason Durell, Senior Director - Global Medical Strategy & Operations, Eli Lilly and Co.

  • Richard Gunderman, Chancellor’s Professor, IU Medical School

  • Jason Kelly, Director, IUPUI Arts and Humanities Institute

  • Mike Langellier, President and CEO, TechPoint

  • Jeffrey Patchen, President and CEO, The Children's Museum of Indianapolis

  • Chad Priest, Regional CEO, Red Cross of Indiana

  • Rafael Sanchez, President and CEO, IPL

  • Jerry Torr, VP and Commercial Business Development Officer, Hamilton National Title